Committee Members

General Chair

  • Dennis Youchison,ORNL

Technical Program Committee

  • Brad Nelson, (ORNL retired), Chair
  • Jean Paul Allain, Univ of Illinois
  • Harry Bailey, ORNL
  • Hans-Stephan Bosch, IPP
  • Lee Cadwallader, INL
  • Shishir Deshpande, ITER India
  • Ankita Jawarala, PPPL
  • Arnie Kellman, General Atomics
  • Leonid Kimchenko, ITER Russia
  • Satoshi Konishi, IAE Kyoto
  • Ingo Kuehn, ITER organization
  • Arnie Lumsdaine, ORNL
  • Elizabeth Surrey, UKAEA
  • Susana Reyes, SLAC
  • David Williamson, ORNL
  • Yican Wu, FDS
  • Yeongkook Oh, NFRI
  • Yuhu Zhai, PPPL

Minicourse Coordinator

  • Daniel Andruczyk, UIUC

Publications Chair

  • Hutch Neilson, PPPL


  • Kevin Freudenberg, ORNL

Exhibition and Sponsorship Chair

  • Kevin Freudenberg, ORNL

Events Chair

  • Ankita Jariwala, PPPL

Local Arrangements

  • John Teehan, IEEE MCE
  • David Donovan, Univ of Tennessee


  • Ashly Pearson, Univ of Tennessee

Awards Chair

  • Martin Nieto Perez, IPN


  • Charles Neumeyer, PPPL
Preparing Abstracts

Abstracts should be prepared in accordance with the template shown at the 28th SOFE web site. Abstracts must be submitted via the web following the links on the submissions page. The deadline for submission of Abstracts is December 7, 2018. Authors will be notified of acceptance by February 01, 2019. Instructions for preparation of the full paper manuscript will be sent with the acceptance notification.

ORAL SESSIONS: Authors of invited papers will be allowed a total of 30 minutes (25 for presentation, 5 for discussion) for their oral presentations. Authors of selected contributed papers will be allowed 20 minutes (15 for presentation, 5 for discussion). Paper selection is the responsibility of the Technical Program Committee.

POSTER SESSION: Poster sessions will be offered each afternoon of the conference. The Technical Program Committee reserves the right to assign papers to either poster or oral sessions to ensure an optimum program

About SOFE2019

The 28th Symposium on Fusion Engineering (SOFE) will be held June 2-6, 2019 near Jacksonville, Florida at the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort and Spa at Ponte Vedra Beach. The conference has an outstanding technical program presented at a world-class PGA Golf and beach resort on the east coast of the United States.

The theme for this SOFE is “Accelerating the Development of Fusion Power”. As in previous SOFEs there will be two minicourses offered on June 2. One is on plasma-material interactions and another on advanced 3d neutronics. A vendor exhibit and community townhall addressing our theme will also be hosted on June 4. A welcome reception will occur on June 2. A Women in Engineering reception will be held Monday evening and a Young Professionals reception will be held just prior to the townhall meeting Tuesday evening. The SOFE awards banquet will occur at the Marriott on Wednesday evening where the 2018 and 2019 Fusion Technology Awards presentations and the SOFE2019 student award will be presented. SOFE is evolving into an international conference and is open to all engineering, physics and material science disciplines involved in the pursuit of both magnetic and inertial confinement fusion.

The general conference chair is Dennis Youchison from Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the technical program chair is Brad Nelson, retired from the US ITER Project Office, Oak Ridge. Both Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the University of Tennessee are the official hosts. SOFE is a bi-annual conference sponsored by the Nuclear Plasma Sciences Society (NPSS) of IEEE and organized by the Fusion Technology Committee of NPSS.

The technical program includes four plenary sessions as well as fourteen oral and three poster sessions. A special session on innovative and disruptive technologies has been added. Other topics include Experimental Devices, Next step Devices and Power Plants, MFE and IFE Alternate Concepts, Divertors and High Heat Flux Components, Chambers, Blankets, and Shields, IFE Fusion Studies and Technologies, Plasma Facing Materials and Surface Engineering, Diagnostics Engineering and Integration, Safety, Operation and Maintenance, Materials, Heating and Current Drive, Disruption Mitigation and Control, Remote Handling and RAMI, Magnet Engineering, Stellarators, Process Simulation and Plant Simulators, Systems Engineering and Large Scale Integration. Submitted papers are eligible for publication in a special issue of IEEE Transactions on Plasma Science. Special guest speakers will address reactor technology development for ITER and beyond.

The short course chair is Daniel Andruczyk of University of Illinois. The courses offered at this conference focus on plasma-materials interactions and neutronics for breeding and energy production. Continuing education credits are available for these courses. In addition to the receptions and banquet, the social program also includes a tour of the TPC grounds and club house and access to the resort spa and beach club included with the resort fee.

The Sawgrass Marriott Golf resort and Spa is 40 minutes (32 miles) southeast of the Jacksonville International Airport and 25 miles north of St. Augustine. It can be reached by rental car, taxi or airport shuttle. It has large rooms and villas, multiple pools, a SurfStream wave pool, access to the adjacent TPC Sawgrass with two championship golf courses, beach activities, spa, fitness center and 6 restaurants and lounges. They also provide a complimentary shuttle for a quick ride over to their private Cabana Beach Club on the stunning Ponte Vedra beach.